The Society of Television Engineers

Welcome to the Society of Television Engineers Web Site.  Established in 1940, STE is an organization unique to Los Angeles, Hollywood and the surrounding areas.  Its members include key individuals involved in television broadcast engineering and the manufacture of television broadcast equipment.  The purpose of the STE is to provide a common ground for people in the video, broadcasting and related technologies to meet up, trade experiences and learn about new products and methods.  If you are working in video production, broadcast, post production, or systems design/integration, you will find others with similar backgrounds at the STE.



STE dinner meetings are usually held on the third Thursday of each month except for July and August. Meeting activities include a social cocktail hour, dinner, a table-by-table industry event reports and introduction of guests. This is followed by a formal program that covers new or interesting broadcast, production and post production systems, standards, products, or techniques.  Meetings are open to anyone interested in the field.

Sign Up for Meeting Notices

Previous Presentation Slides
Several of our presenters have made copies of their presentations avalable for download, you can find them on the Previous Meetings page
Next Meeting

We are pleased to Announce

Marc Zorn

From HBO

Will Present

An Insider’s View of Security Issues Facing M&E” (a rebuttal to traditional Infosec)

Topics of Discussion:

There’s no business like show business, like no business Infosec knows.  Really good information security practitioners have to be well-versed in many domains: networks, operating systems, applications, local laws, physical mechanisms, encryption, data management, and even Psychology.  The learning curves are steep.  This tends to give someone who is accomplished with these “dark arts” a level of arrogance when it comes to applying their knowledge and talents.  But, the media industry has ecosystems that are very different than other business, and security pressures are different than other industries.  We’ll talk about how to address things that outsiders just don’t understand.

Please plan to join us on Thursday, May 16th.
Time: 6:00pm to 9:00pm
At Pickwick Gardens
1001 West Riverside Dr,  Burbank CA 91506

Board Members & Officers

Board for 2018-2019:

President - Jeff Longbottom
Secretary - Katy Yu

Treasurer - George Hamilton

Charter Members

Tony Cieniewski

Jerry Isenhower

At-Large Members

Sharon Osornio

Rafic Ghoogassian

Brad Strommen